Pot-a-toe, Po-tatoe, Sanchezi

We are having intensive language courses.  This language is much crazier than I imagined. When talking to someone, you add an “i” to your own name. So from hence forth, I will be known as Sanchezi in this country. I swear, I’m not making this up. That’s just good ol’ fashioned comedy.

They seem to have a great love for the consonants in their alphabet. They string them together like their lives depended on it. For example, “Good Morning” is ‘Dila Mshvidobsa. Are you kidding me!?!  So the difficult thing is to know the translation into Georgian (but still Latin), then translate into Georgian script). Not easy. It takes longer for me than average dude to acquire a language. Even if I know what I want to say, I can’t translate in my head very fast.  We went downtown last night, and I had several occasions to speak to Georgians (Saqartveli), but had brain freezes. …It’ll get easier.

We had a seminar with four current members of the program. They were super informative. It’s amazing how you can just tell how much they have changed. They were of both sexes and varying ethnicities. They were stationed all over, villages, towns, cities, teaching public, private and police. They didn’t sugarcoat anything; from harassment of western women to pseudo-discriminatory actions towards people of color. But through all of their hardships, they were still enthused and excited and loved their choice of joining the program.

Best conversation of the day:

Scene: Phones were handed out earlier, and its up to us to exchange and collect our own numbers. I’m in a neighbor’s room exchanging numbers with both the roommates. I punch in the first friend’s number…

Me: So it’s D-O-N-N-I-E?

Friend: No, it’s D-A-N-N-Y.

ME: Huh?

Friend: D-A-N-N-Y.

Me: D-O-N-N-Y?

Friend: No.

Me: Wait, what!?!

Friend: Danny (in an intense Scottish accent)

Me……

Friend: (smiles)

Me: DANNY!!! I’ve been calling you Donnie for two days now!  Sorry, dude.

3 responses to “Pot-a-toe, Po-tatoe, Sanchezi

    • Yep! That’s correct! My team members really get a kick out of it. I think they purposefully go out of their way to say my name.

  1. Hey… that is really great (your new name and all)…and i LOVED your conversation between you and “Danny”…how exciting for you!! Love reading the blog 🙂

Holla atcha boy!

