All Things Considered

Relatives of the host family came to visit this weekend. So I can now fill in more of the family tree.

The host mother’s family was from Abkhazia, which is currently an occupied territory of Russia. During the war, her father fled Abkhazia and settled in Ozurgeti eventually starting a University. My host mother worked there as well as my host father and thats how they met. My host mother’s father was a botanist.

Visiting this weekend were her brother and his two children.

I was correct in saying the host grandpa was a mechanic before retiring.

I think this family, all things considered, is pretty well off. I say that just by accessing the accumulated goods the family has. For example, Wi-fi, smart phones for both boys, washing machine, pretty recently acquired car shipped from America.

“…Now if my wife is my grandmother, then I’m her grandchild
And every time I think of it, it nearly drives me wild
For now I have become the strangest case I ever saw
As husband of my grandmother, I am my own grandpa.”

I’m My Own Grandpa, Ray Stevens

Holla atcha boy!

