Pride and Prejudice

So in trying to endear myself to my host sister, Nino, I dazzled her with my IPad draw app. It worked. The next day, I gave her paper and a pen to doodle. For the past few days, she has still been drawing on that one sheet of paper with that one pen.

So today walking around town with two TLG friends, I thought it would be cool and a great idea for Nino to have some markers or colored pencils. So I bought her a pack of multi-colored pencils and felt so puffed up about it.

Get back to the house and she’s playing in the street with her brother.  I give it to her and she immediately comes inside and colors (mostly sharpens) with them.

Swelled with pride. Expanded this little girl’s world!

So I start reading a book, and after a little while I look up and she is walking towards me with this massive bank money bag.

“Surely not,” I mutter to myself.

She opened the bag to reveal stacks on stacks on stacks of pens and colored pencils. Okay.

Serves me right!

***

“Pride goeth before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.” Proverbs 16:18

***

‎”That’s how you’re going to beat ’em, Butch. Keep underestimating you.” – Butch (Bruce Willis), Pulp Fiction.

Holla atcha boy!

