Maslow And Me

Abraham Maslow developed the Hierarchy of Needs model. It states that we must satisfy each need in turn, starting with the first, which deals with the most obvious needs for survival itself.  Only when the lower order needs of physical and emotional well-being are satisfied can we concern ourselves with the higher order needs of influence and personal development.

Conversely, if the things that satisfy our lower order needs are swept away, we are no longer concerned about the maintenance of our higher order needs.

1. Biological and Physiological needs – air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep, etc.

2. Safety needs – protection from elements, security, order, law, limits, stability, etc.

3. Belongingness and Love needs – work group, family, affection, relationships, etc.

4. Esteem needs – self-esteem, achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, managerial responsibility, etc.

5. Self-Actualization needs – realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences.

 

 

I have finally, finally reached a state of rest.

For the past two months, my anxiety has been running high. Having to have faith in a program that I established contact with via the Internet to help change the course of my life. Leaving everything I know and love behind for an abstract goal that is yet to be fully mapped out.  Living in a country that I don’t know the language, culture or customs. Embedding with a family that I must depend fully on their good nature to feed me, clothe me, house me and keep me safe. Learning how I will enter a new school culture and fulfill my responsibilities with little to no previous program structure.

But finally, I am at rest with all of that. That’s not to say I have mastered any of it, or will anytime in the foreseeable future. But I have enough under my belt to be okay with moving forward with resolve and a purpose of gaining more ground.

I did okay to know the alphabet before I came, but after that everything else had to be relearned. So I committed some key words (hello, goodbye, sorry, yes, no, “I am”) to memory and used charades for the rest. Now as my mind rests, I am able to recognize other words as they are spoken to me and I’m acquiring more words, albeit slowly, as the days go by. I resolve to start studying the Georgian again and make larger steps in learning the language.

I will start to work out again with resolve. I haven’t done a crunch or pull-up in two months. The diet here is heavy on the carbohydrates. That has to be handled.

I am no longer anxious.

I am stress free.

I am happy.

I am finally at rest.

Let’s go.

“I’m a good man with a good heart
Had a tough time, got a rough start
But I finally learned to let it go
Now I’m right here, and I’m right now
And I’m hoping, knowing somehow
That my shadow days are over
My shadow days are over now”

Shadow Days, John Mayer

3 responses to “Maslow And Me

Holla atcha boy!

