Teaching: Day Two

I have a confession to make.

There are things that I do well or think I do well.  But I take it to the point of thinking I do them better than anyone else (or most people). I try to mask it as best I can because no one likes a snob. But it is simply the way I am. Teaching is one of those things. I would prefer to do it solo. Which is why co-teaching will be slightly difficult, but definitely a learning experience for me.

I was able to teach with (observe) all the English teachers at my school by today’s end. I thus far have fifth grade classes (they call them forms) and 2nd grade classes. I learned today that the younger grades do in fact have consistent teachers throughout the day. And the specialty teachers come to the students in their classes.

My four teachers have obviously different styles of teaching. They also have different levels of comfort with the English language. One has an American sound, another a British sounding back ground and still a third sounds like she puts a German spin on her pronunciations

But added to the dynamic of education is the dynamic of the students themselves. No one class is alike. The first 2nd grade class today was on the ball with the colors, numbers and simply sentences. The other class was struggling, save a few students.  Some students were as said before, super eager, others simply wanted to play and others didn’t seem to know where they were.

One teacher was irate (I think more embarrassed) that the students didn’t retain how to write their ABC’s over summer break. She spent A LOT of time making this clear by asking questions she knew that did not know the answer when she could have  been reteaching. Some teachers teach with the lever of ‘love’, some teach with tool of ‘shame’. I don’t do well with teachers who use the tool of shame. I also don’t do well with teachers who only teach to half (the best half) of a class. These kids are at the dawn of education and learning. It would break my heart, and probably will, to see the exact moment a student transitions from ‘lights on’ to ‘lights off’ in terms of being excited about education.  As a high school teacher and seeing the process from the other end, I know that once they are gone, it’s extremely difficult if not impossible to get back the education lost during their public school years.

But it’s early yet. I haven’t even witnesses the majority of my classes, I don’t think.

 

 

 

“You’re so vain
You probably think this song is about you
You’re so vain
I’ll bet you think this song is about you
Don’t you? Don’t you?”

You’re So Vain, Carly Simon

Holla atcha boy!

