Rockstar Status

Today I didn’t have any crying 1st graders, thank God.

Even on the first day, brave students would test out their English on the ‘new American’ in the hallways between classes. Then run to their friends to describe the adventure. I love that! I get stared at, as said before, in town all the time. But in a closed in environment with hundreds of kids; its amplified. But I would do anything for kids. So I don’t mind at all.

As the days go on, and I go into more students’ classrooms and they interact with me, the hallway hello’s increase. They are now also extending hands for handshakes. One kid, every time he sees me (and its quite often) runs up with the biggest smile, extends his hand and yells, “HELLO!HOW ARE YOU!!! I’M FINE!!! MY NAME IS DINO!!!”, and runs away.  Okay.

Speaking of hallways, I’ve put work into figuring things out.  Everybody gets to leave their classrooms during the break between classes. The upperclassmen switch classes, but still have relatively same people. I think Lado explained that there are three groupings. The elementary grades gets to run the halls, but they pretty much stay close to their rooms. But man, do they take advantage of that free time. The younger they are the faster they run; in circles, into each other, into the walls, falling on the floor. By the time they are in say fifth or sixth they stop the running, but still push and pull each other and fall on the floor. That age can also go outside to the playground (I think because they can run fast enough to get back to class before bell ends.) The playground is developing country 101; sketchy rusted iron apparatuses.  The kids do show their communal nature by helping push each other up these ‘accidents waiting to happen’ structures. By the time they are upperclassmen, they have slowed to walks and do laps around the halls or school with their close friends and try to dodge the gauntlet of tumbling elementary kids.

Today I went into a third grade class that was the most laid back thus far. They asked me a thousand questions. They even asked me to sign my autograph in their notebooks. And in the same class, a upperclassman snuck in for the last couple of minutes. He told the co-teacher he just wanted to hear me speak.

Some other TLGers came into town today to get some shopping done and run some errands. Walking around, I noticed some of my students and they noticed me. Greatest feeling.

Days like today make me feel like I’m cheating the program and getting WAY more out of this than they are. I can’t wait to go to school tomorrow!

“‘Cause we all just wanna be big rockstars
And live in hilltop houses driving fifteen cars
The girls come easy and the drugs come cheap
We’ll all stay skinny ’cause we just won’t eat
And we’ll hang out in the coolest bars
In the VIP with the movie stars
Every good gold digger’s
Gonna wind up there
Every Playboy bunny
With her bleach blond hair

Hey hey I wanna be a rockstar
Hey hey I wanna be a rockstar”

Rockstar, Nickelback

*** Sorry. First and last time using Nickelback.  ***

Holla atcha boy!

