Inspiration

When I was young, my parents took me to church regularly and often. So much so, I thought I wanted to be a pastor.

Also when I was young, my dad took me to WWF wrestling matches.  This was back when Ric Flair, Jay Youngblood and Rowdy Ronnie Piper were new stars on the scene. I wanted to learn all the moves and become a wrestler.

I remember learning that people could actually be launched into space and live. I wanted to become an astronaut.

I remember a friend in middle school told me he had not seen the ocean. I was dumbfounded. We were living in North Carolina not three hours from the beach. I went every summer for vacation. I didn’t understand how someone who lived in my ‘world’ hadn’t seen and done the things I had seen. I didn’t understand that the opportunity just had not been presented to him.

I remember being inspired to radically change the way I presented information and teach my lessons to my classes after attending a seminar on India.  And to radically change it once again after seeing the ‘magic board’ on CNN News.

I don’t mind when Georgian Kids stare at me in school, class or in the streets of the town. They are being exposed to something that was not in their worldview previously.  Something new and different and from a place probably no one they know has ever been. And here I am, close enough to touch, at their disposal to talk to and interact with as one would with a shiny new toy.

Who knows what ideas or thoughts are churning behind those bright eyes, full of wonder and imagination….

“You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one”

Imagine, John Lennon

Holla atcha boy!

