Damn Kids

Daily conversations and interactions are too many, obviously, to mention them all. But this one I must share.

The host mother is at her wits end with these kids. She is a working mom with a senior in high school, a middle schooler and a 4 year old. She often has shouting matches with her oldest son that rivals and takes me back to the shouting matches between my mother and me when I was a teenager. (We both barely got outta that time period alive.)

During lunch, things were already heated. We were squeezed together eating at the kitchen table, even though there was a huge pan of hot pepper sauce marinating on the table. The host mom came in yelling at Lado for sitting on the end and not pushing up further to the table. She yelled at Nika for after sitting down at the table inadvertently sliding his chair too close to Nino. She and Lado got into it again for I don’t know what. She got mad at the ketchup bottle for being empty. She yelled at Nino for acting crazy about having to pour her own ketchup ‘just so’ on her plate. Then as Nika was just talking too much to her about whatever and Nino was yacking away at the same time, she screams at them something that had the effect of, “If either of you say one more word, I will burn this house down while you sleep tonight!!”, and simultaneously slamming her hand down on the table. Everything on the table jumped at least six inches. There was dead silence after that. We all ate our potatoes with our heads down avoiding eye contact.

Grandma came in and asked what in the world was going on. Then tried to console her daughter-in-law.

Breaking the ice as only a 4 year old cutie pie can, Nino then, in a stern but loving voice chastised her mom for loosing her temper. Her mom then came over at Nino’s beckoning for a kiss from her on the cheek.

It’s been an emotionally sore day for me already, but that scene made me tear up.

The host mom, not well rehearsed in English then says to me, “I SORRY. IT JUST KIDS, SOMETIMES….”

Nuff said, lady. nuff said.

“Somebody please have mercy
‘Cause I just can’t take it
Stop pressurin’ me
Just stop pressurin’ me
Stop pressurin’ me
Make me wanna scream
Stop pressurin’ me
Just stop pressurin’ me
Stop pressurin’ me
Make you just wanna scream”

Scream, Michael Jackson

One response to “Damn Kids

  1. Most recently…at the Brayley house, we call that, “Crazy Momma just showed up!”. And by the way…a well-played crazy momma used sparingly can sometimes be highly effective. LOL!

Holla atcha boy!

