First Grade: Redeemed

Today, I only had one class… 1st grade. I have multiple first grade classes on my schedule, but this one seems to have etched itself in my psyche as THE first grade class.

So I went in there today, with the mindset, ‘one and done…one and done.” But lo and behold, they were transformed. They had the same cute little faces if not cuter. But something had changed. They were attentive and still… all of them! Even the crybabies of previous lessons. They retained information from last class. They were TRYING to learn the new words. I was dumbstruck.

While I was going over my part of the lesson, pronouncing words for G through L, the revelation that made me know things were going to be aces from this point forward was the main cry baby was smiling and  laughing with me and the rest of the class.

We are growing up together!

** This song always makes me think of my buddy, Greg Barnes**

“Five years old, bringin comedy
Everytime I look at you I think man, a little me
…Sometimes I wonder, what you gonna be
A General, a Doctor, maybe a MC
Haha, I wanna kiss you all the time
But I will test that butt when you cut outta line, trudat
Uh-uh-uh why you do dat?
…I pledge to you, I will always do
Everything I can
Show you how to be a man
Dignity, integrity, honor an
An I don’t mind if you lose, long as you came with it
An you can cry, ain’t no shame it it
…So if the world attacks, and you slide off track
Remember one fact, I got your back”

Just The Two Of Us (editted), Will Smith

One response to “First Grade: Redeemed

Holla atcha boy!

