So Excited

1. I received a package in the mail today from a friend in Turkey. She also happens to be one of the sweetest souls I have met in the past few months. Along with some emergency medications, she replenished my supply of Twix and Snickers!

There is no greater small, powerful joy here than getting a package in the post. First off it’s an event in itself. They require me to have my passport and sign in several places. They don’t leave it at my house. The post lady, Nino, hunts me down. Usually I’m in school. No matter which classroom I’m tucked in, she seeks me out. That’s a lady who loves her job…. maybe. Then all the stamps and the package wrapped with enough tape to decorate a high school semiformal (sorry, that’s an inside joke geared towards my student council peeps). Then the Herculean effort to get whatever it is out. Good times.

2. Today, my bebia called me down for late breakfast. Because of my diet, eating is nothing to look forward to. But today beside the basket of bread, cheese and tea was a plate of sausage!

“Is this for me?”, I asked timidly. She said yes, as long as I continue to take my pills. Done and done! Even though it was cold, it was a similar sensation to what I think I remember a What-a-Burger (local Concord, North Carolina chain restaurant) gave me. I couldn’t eat it fast enough.

What this also implies… I can drink Coca-cola again!

I’m back, baby!!!!

Greatest package scene, ever! A Christmas Story

“I’m so excited,
And I just can’t hide it,
I’m about to lose control
And I think I like it.
I’m so excited,
And I just can’t hide it,
And I know, I know, I know, I know
I know I want you, want you!”

So Excited, Pointer Sisters

One response to “So Excited

Holla atcha boy!

