A Tale Of Two Schools

I left my schedule for my classes and where they are at home today.

My first class of the day was with (in my head labeled as) Teacher #2. Thankfully she simply whisked me away with her. She is a no non-sense teacher, but she gets results. Those kids are on point.

Second class, another teacher indicated that I was with her. Walking to class she told me she wasn’t feeling well; a headache, I think. When we walked into class, there were two students up front at the door playing musical instruments. And on the board they had written notes to us English teachers! It was a pleasant surprise and much needed for my co teacher.

Another positive note of that class was that because she was sickly, she allowed me to lead the entire class. (Not to brag, but I think she was impressed. Volunteers here don’t usually have teaching experience.) Up to this point, she had not done that. Class went relatively smoothly. And they at the end they serenaded us again.

I took this opportunity to take a few pictures. They bell rang so I didn’t have that much time to take a lot of good pictures.  I promise though, more to come.

One of my Fourth Grade Classes

 

P.S. The girl in the red shirt is one of the students I mentioned seeing in town this weekend.

Waiting for my third class of the day, I happened to meet the most intriguing young lady. (Kseniya, remember the vibe we got when we first met? It was like that.) I was sitting alone in the teacher’s sitting room, and she walked in, bold as day (as her friends cowered in the background), and says, “Hello. How are you?” She had a pretty comfortable command of English.

She invited me to go outside with her and her friends to shoot some hoops, so I meet all her friends and a group of tangent boys who I think were their counterpart friends. I later found out they all were in the 11th grade.

 

 

Today was the day that I was to join some of my co teachers in a volleyball competition with other local schools. Before going home, I got relatively good information on time and place.

2:30 I found the designated school, St Gabriel’s, and went in. There were two teams of students playing. But no recognizable adults…. only one other adult, actually. So I stood there awkwardly waiting for the coming storm of curious kids, trying out there English with me. And sure enough, first a mob of girls, then they were overrun by the boys. It was fun though.

I waited and waited. The student’s game finished, but still no other adults… none! They gym pretty much emptied out. I figured I was being stood up. Don’t know why, but I felt like Charlie Brown and the football.

A group of straggler kids invited me to play a game with them. We had the best time! I thanked them for allowing me to play with them and went home.

It was really nice to befriend a whole other group of kids. I will definitely be back.

 

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us…”  — A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens

Holla atcha boy!

