Trick Or Treat

Halloween and I have had a long sordid history. I remember as a child there was a scare in my neighborhood (maybe the city) of a razorblade being found in an apple or candy. So parents were on hyper alert and searching through all of the candy one by one. I remember thinking, “What kink of evil person would try to harm kids like that?”

Then growing up in a religious family, there was the added ‘evil’ context associated with Halloween. So it wasn’t only scary, it was supernaturally scary!

Lastly, I hate when people act stupid. Related to that are practical jokes. When people do practical jokes on me, I have a unchecked need to not only get them back, but to more damage than they did. Then of course things simply spin out of control from there. So I would rather just avoid those situations altogether. Similar with people doing stupid things. It grates my soul. And thus far, Halloween has been a reason for people to act crazy stupid.

And lastly, I have always had an aversion to dressing up. It’s sort of linked to not wanting to dress up for fear of being laughed at.  I can’t explain it well. There are undoubtedly some psychological wires crossed in the ol’ noggin.

All that to say, I don’t dress up for Halloween. It’s not a holiday I’m particularly fond of. I didn’t even like to dress up for Spirit Days for my high school Homecoming Weeks.

Here in Georgia, as I have said before, nothing is exempt from being looked at and reexamined a second time.

We were invited to a Halloween Party in town called Martvili. And it being a Halloween Party, I was already predisposed to NOT attend. But as my friends walked around at the bazaar in Ozurgeti, I figured, why not! And then quickly assembled a costume.

The party was originally supposed to be at a vacant house. But that fell through. Instead we rented out a restaurant. We had a supra and a bangin’ dance party (music contributed by yours truly).

“This year Halloween fell on a weekend
Me and Geto Boyz are trick-or-treating
Robbing little kids for bags
Till an old man got behind our ass
So we speeded up the pace
Took a look back and he was right before our face”

Mind Playin’ Tricks on Me, Geto Boys

Holla atcha boy!

