Love And Basketball

Yesterday the Physical Education teacher brought out a basketball. A real one. It was the calf leather kind, not the hard leather kind. Previously they just shoot around with a volleyball.

I was in heaven. I felt like one of those samurai warriors who hadn’t handled a sword in a long time. It all came rushing back.

I don’t think they care for or pay attention to the sport or the skill of basketball as we do in America. I haven’t seen a pick up game yet, although I see full courts in pretty much every town and village. I think volleyball gets more love than basketball… VOLLEYBALL, for goodness sakes!

So not to brag, but this was probably the first time the kids at my school (and the P.E. teachers) saw how a basketball should/ could be handled.

It felt good.

 

“Now basketball is my favorite sport
I like the way they dribble up and down the court
I like no interruption when the game is on
I like slam-dunks that take me to the hoop
My favorite play is the alley-oop
I like the pick-n-roll 
I like the give-n-go”

Basketball, Curtis Blow

One response to “Love And Basketball

Holla atcha boy!

