The Rich And The Poor

Today, I was asked to sit in on a ninth grade class discussion on Local/ Global problems. It was a great end to my week. It also was the closest thus far I have gotten to my former teaching style back in America. We discussed pollution and economic disparities.

One awkward moment in the class however, occurred when my co-teacher was trying to come up with an example to ‘Should we help the poor?’, and she called out this one kid, by saying, “I’m sorry to say (a.k.a. Bless your heart), but Tazo is absent often, doesn’t try, probably won’t get a certificate (diploma), won’t get a good job and will be poor. If you get a good job and are successful, will you help Tazo?”

Yikes!  A very tense moment… for me. Tazo and the rest of the class took it in stride.

 

“Woo ah, mercy mercy me
Ah things ain’t what they used to be, no no
Where did all the blue skies go?
Poison is the wind that blows from the north and south and east
Woo mercy, mercy me, mercy father
Ah things ain’t what they used to be, no no
Oil wasted on the ocean and upon our seas, fish full of mercury
Ah oh mercy, mercy me”

Mercy, Mercy Me (The Ecology), Marvin Gaye

2 responses to “The Rich And The Poor

Holla atcha boy!

