First English Club Meeting

When I walked up to the school, there were two girls already waiting. Which I took as a good sign.  The front door was locked however; which I took as  bad sign. There was a cleaning lady inside, but we just decided to wait… and see.

The main student that I went to for assistance in the school is an 11th grader named Sophia. She is a very outgoing young lady who really wants to learn English and understands to do that she needs to speak with native English speakers. She came up to us a little later and took matters into her own hands. She talked to the custodian and found out that the side door was open.

So my game plan for the Club is to set it up as multifaceted. I want there to always be 1. a game portion, 2. a discussion portion and 3. a music/dancing/ interactive/ movement portion.

Yesterday I played a version of Charades where they could speak (only in English) but not use gestures. So much fun!  And it was a joy to see their personalities shine. Then we had a talk on “What they wanted to do once they finished high school and why?” Very driven young ladies. Responses ranged from Ambassador, and Dancer to a Lawyer. And all had university as the next step.

Then I taught them the cupid shuffle. That was… entertaining. I keep forgetting some people don’t like to dance. That concept is beyond me.

But all in all, even though there were only four people, I think it was a success. Fun had by all.

The first inaugural English speaking Club at Ozurgeti School #4

“To the right, to the right, to the right, to the right
To the left, to the left, to the left, to the left
Now kick, now kick, now kick, now kick
Now walk it by yourself, now walk it by yourself”
Cupid Shuffle, Cupid

Holla atcha boy!

