Breathing It In

I forgot…

How beautiful it is living in the shadow of a mountain range.

DSCN2757

I can usually decipher what someone is saying to me in Georgian, but I have little hope of responding in a comprehensible way.

That American showers should never be underestimated….EVER.

That the kids in my school think I’m equal to Jesus’ second coming. And on a separate note (done to all teachers) they all stand as soon as a teacher enters the room. That never gets old.

It’s just cold enough to be uncomfortable in my room until the heat is turned on at 8 pm.

That there is no such thing as separate checks here. The conclusion of every meal with multiple people is transitioned into a game of Ante Up, or better know as ‘Be generous but don’t get screwed’.

Favorite moments being back so far…

Eating lunch prepared by my Bebia (host grandmother) alone and quietly as she goes about her business working on the second lunch (hot lunch) of the day.

Teaching my favorite class (a fifth grade class) by myself. They have the potential to churn out chaos and mayhem, but instead they do all they can to make the class work. They interpret and translate words communally until the correct message is given to me. I love them!

Random, unsought hugs from Nino, my host sister.

Listening to the hard rain beat off the terra-cotta roof tiles in the wee hours of the morning and feeling a deep sense of belonging.

“When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad”

My Favorite Things, Rodgers and Hammerstein

Holla atcha boy!

