Being Sick Sucks

I successfully navigated the horrible flu back in the States only to get sick when I got back to Georgia. But if I had to choose, I would rather have it this way as I no longer have health insurance in the States. So…. lucky me? The illness I had wasn’t even near flu level. I had a chest cold that grew to an aggravated sore throat and I was super tired for the duration. I tried to self-medicate and work through it myself. But laying on the couch this Sunday, I was chilly- like ‘needed a blanket’ chilly.

This winter is super mild. Sunday was a nice high 50’s/ low 60’s. Which meant they didn’t fire up the wood stove downstairs. Which also meant there was NOWHERE in the house that I could get warm and cozy. My host grandmother saw me on the couch and surprised me with an unscheduled thermometer check. She said my temperature was insanely high and I needed to go to the doctor IMMEDIATELY.   … okay.

Did the doctor thing, again. Got some drugs, again. The doctor gave me hell about not learning Georgian yet. Ugh. “I’m trying lady!”

This time Lado came to the doctor with me. And now that he has his license, he drove us.  Oh, teenage boys and cars. I think the obsession is universal. He not only loves and knows the names, make, model and year of all his favorites cars, he of course also dreams of driving fast.  If I have to hear about a Ford Shelby yadda-yadda one more time….     He obviously took this opportunity to drive his dad’s car as fast as possible down a straight stretch of Ozurgeti.

…Teenagers.

The drugs had me drowsy and in a deep sleep for twelve hour stretches. But sometime Monday night, I woke up refreshed and ready to go!

Now, Tuesday afternoon, life is good!  I have mild sniffles. The sun is shining! I’m washing and hanging my clothes out to dry! I finally get to take a shower tonight (since I’m no longer sick)! The streaming on the wifi isn’t freezing as much today, so I got to watch some YouTube videos recommended by friends!

I hate being sick. It just feels yucky. But getting healthy again is AWESOME!

 

P.S. I was supposed to go skiing this past weekend but the trip organizer said there wasn’t any snow on the mountain we were visiting. Which worked out fine since I was sick. So I still have some skiing to look forward to.

P.S.S. Sitting in the hospital made me miss my friend, Caroline. If you remember she was a fellow TLGer here in my town.  She was with me for my first trip to the hospital. I still have a great network of English speakers here nearby. We still meet every Wednesday in town and we are even going to start having a movie night.  But they aren’t TLG… they aren’t from my #43… Miss that girl.  Mi-qwars shen, gogo!

 

“Oh-kay, here’s the situation
My parents went away on a week’s vacation and
They left the keys to the brand new Porsche
Would they mind?
Umm, well, of course not
I’ll just take it for a little spin
And maybe show it off to a couple of friends
I’ll just cruise it around the neighborhood
Well, maybe I shouldn’t
Yeah, of course I should!”

Parents Just Dont Understand, DJ Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince

Holla atcha boy!

