Brooke’s Birthday Weekend: Beginning and Ending

Arrived in Tbilisi early Friday morning. I don’t know why they have the trains arrive into cities before normal business hours. Tbilisi was literally still asleep. I caught a taxi from the train station to my friends’ neighborhood called Vake. Word is, it’s a posh part of the city. It was too dark for me to tell. Fortunately my friends answered the phone and opened the door for me.  Everyone understandably was still passed out. I quietly asked a dude I had never met before to push over a little on the pull out sofa, just so I could lay down. He was nice enough to even share the blanket with me. Friends for life! Three hours later, we all were awake enough to start our day. First Stop- lunch. Followed by Natural Hot Sulfur Baths.

***

Friday night after eating great shawarma, we went back to the hostel to prepare for the nightlife. We met a girl at the hostel from Poland named Kesha. She had heard about Georgia and its hospitality and decided to hop on a plane and see for herself. She is a true traveller. Next month she plans on going to Japan.

We add her to our crew for the night and go hit the bars. We start at Canudos Bar (my favorite) first. It’s too smoky in the cold months, but in the warmer weather months, it’s the BEST hangout. After Canudos, we followed Kesha to a club she had heard about from a Georgian she had met earlier in the week. I loved this club as soon as I set foot inside. It played techno music but the DJ was amazing and got better and better as the night progressed. Kevin wasn’t feeling it, so he left pretty shortly after we arrived. Erin, my party co-pilot, put up a great effort, but faded too. I hit a wall around 4 a.m. and decided to not push through only because had to go skiing at 8 the following morning.

But that will not be the last time I see that club.

***

Sunday was a beautiful day in Tbilisi. Erin, Kevin and I strolled down Rustavili Ave. headed in the direction of an America chicken place, Texas Chicken. I was going to get a shawarma myself. But Erin suggested we go to the Hanger Bar and we detoured toward Old Town.

The Hanger Bar is an American owned bar with an Irish/ Pilot theme. The beauty of this place is that you can loose yourself and be transplanted briefly back to America. Especially with the hamburgers, chicken strips, fries, and beers we ordered sitting in a booth watching college conference basketball on ESPN.

Erin and me at Hanger Bar.

Erin and me at Hanger Bar.

We stayed there for a good 6 hours. To the point that I was getting nervous about getting my stuff out of the hostel and getting to my train on time. I didn’t want to have another… nearly unfortunate situation. But Paula can speak great Georgian and got us a taxi to the hostel and then to the train station with plenty of time to spare.

It was a great end to a great weekend.

Goodbye Tbilisi! Happy Birthday Brooke!!!!

***

Sippin on coke and rum
I’m like so what i’m drunk
It’s the freakin weekend baby 
I’m about to have me some fun

Ignition, R.Kelly

Holla atcha boy!

