My Name is Sanchezi And I’ll Be Your Tamada Tonight

Friday night, I went to turn on the water pump in the kitchen so I could take a shower with hot water. I noticed there were some extended family members present. Which means one thing- SUPRA!

After my shower, sure enough, I was called down to eat.

Supras are truly amazing experiences. No matter how larger or small, they all have an energy that can’t be duplicated any other way. This was a small one. The visitors were only Eka’s niece and her husband.

One difference at this dinner was they broke out the Maker’s Mark. When I came to Georgia my gift to the family were bottles of Maker’s Mark and Jack Daniels. I chose these knowing that drinking was a integral part of the culture, so why not bring some from America. They put both of the bottles in the glass cabinet and haven’t opened either… until last night. I don’t know why, but I’m glad they did. Everyone tried some, but I think only the host dad liked it. He kept saying, “This is fantastic!”. The grandpa apparently didn’t like it (I don’t even think he tasted it) as he rapidly left to get the wine.

I was asked to be the tamada, which is a lot of pressure. You just can’t simply say, “Gamarjos!” and drink, you have to think of and say mini speeches every ten or so minutes. After four shots of Marker’s Mark  (I was afraid we were going to finish the bottle), we switched to wine. Needless to say, we were lit.

We had great conversation and great fellowship. Towards the end, they asked if I knew any poems. Nope. Then if I could sing. I think I can, but was too shy and they wouldn’t have known the songs anyway. I asked if they could sing, and after a rapid, ‘yes’, the grandpa broke out in a verse, quickly followed by the nephew.

Poly harmonic singing is just as famous in Georgia as is their wine. I hadn’t really heard it yet, but at the kitchen table, they gave me a mini concert. Two of the parts were sung by the grandpa and nephew and the third by the niece. It was extremely good. I couldn’t help smiling .

I think I made a pretty good tamada… with the assistance of my old friend Maker’s Mark, of course!

***

There’s too many things that I haven’t done yet
Too many sunsets
I haven’t seen
You can’t waste the day wishing it’d slow down
You would’ve thought by now
I’d have learned something

Many The Mile, Sarah Bareilles

Holla atcha boy!

