Turkey: YouTube- The International Language

The next day was a lazy day for my friend and I decided to simply lounge around the house and do as little as possible other than gaze out the window. Ayşe had prepared a great breakfast for us before she left for work. It had the trifecta of Georgian breakfasts (and dinners) being tea, bread and cheese. But thankfully they went further with multiple cheeses, choices of olives, jams, and a whole table full of other stuff. Yum.

What I greatly appreciated about Mustafa was his similar interest and love in music, movies and the devices used to get and play them. He, too, had a ton of movies on an external hard drive and he also continuously was on the search for new music. As an indicator of how removed I am from American pop culture in Georgia, he introduced me to some new releases of American music that I was unaware of. He loaded me up with a flash drive full of music and movies!

When our hosts returned home, we hung out with them some. We had invited a guest to dinner. She was an English teacher in one of the other universities. I think Mustafa went to school with her.

After dinner, we were sitting around chatting, when I remembered I still had my Georgian dance video on my camera. I’m pretty proud of it for some reason, and decided to show them. They noted that it was similar to the traditional dance of a region in Turkey. Thus began the epic marathon of YouTubing Turkish traditional dances region by region.

Which got me to thinking about traditional dances. Georgia is full of them as is Turkey. These dances have been passed down through the ages and are immediately recognizable. They don’t vary hardly at all by or spontaneous additions or improvisations. Does the United States have traditional regional dances like that? I thought about the dances that had their genesis in the States, but all have an improvisational component to them.  Maybe country line dances… but people still after a while, morph those, too. But the more I think about it, our dances have basic, recognizable features to them as well, even though they can ‘look’ different depending on who performs them.

***

“Girl I been wait ‘n
All night to see you dance like me
You gon sweat yo outfit out
Tryna dance like me
Now let me see you move”

Freeze, T-Pain, w. Chris Brown

Holla atcha boy!

