Presentation On Love

DSCN3226

I was asked last week to be a part of a program that the 11th graders were putting together. Georgia has a similar holiday to Valentines called ‘Love Day (I think)’.  This program was in celebration. They asked me to recite a sonnet by William Shakespeare, #109. Not the best sonnet in my opinion, but I am biased against old English from the start. A student was then to recite the poem in Georgian.

DSCN3283

The day of the program was a full production. They were dressed and in make up. They invited friends and relatives, so the hall was packed out. The program was varied with singing, recitals of poetry, dancing and highlights of historical people.

DSCN3281

I was thoroughly impressed.

 

***

O! never say that I was false of heart,
Though absence seem’d my flame to qualify,
As easy might I from my self depart
As from my soul which in thy breast doth lie:
That is my home of love: if I have ranged,
Like him that travels, I return again;
Just to the time, not with the time exchanged,
So that myself bring water for my stain.
Never believe though in my nature reigned,
All frailties that besiege all kinds of blood,
That it could so preposterously be stained,
To leave for nothing all thy sum of good;
For nothing this wide universe I call,
Save thou, my rose, in it thou art my all.

Sonnet #109, William Shakespeare

Holla atcha boy!

