Meanwhile In Georgia

Getting to the Marshrutka stations from Old Town, Tbilisi is a difficult thing. Well, I should say, getting there cheaply is a difficult thing. The subway doesn’t run there, so you have to walk to another area; Rustaveli St.

As I was walking from Old town to Rustaveli, I noticed there were a lot of blockades and roads closed to traffic. When I got to a main area on Rustaveli St., Freedom Square, the entire street was closed off and it seemed the entire police force was out.

I gathered that there was a parade being held that day. But I couldn’t figure out if it was for or against ‘Ending Violence Against Homophobia Day’.

Well that posed a problem for me, because the subway to the Marshrutka station is through Freedom Square on Rustaveli. I had to navigate the narrow side streets, but fortunately found a back way to the Metro stop.

There were a LOT of people out. At the Metro stop I could hear the chants and shouts of the crowd. I didn’t want to get caught up in it, so I hustled down to the the subway and thus back to Oz.

Back home later that night, I saw this on the news…

Crowd Led by Priests Attacks Gay Rights Marchers in Georgia

***

I can’t believe the news today
Oh, I can’t close my eyes and make it go away
How long, how long must we sing this song?
How long, how long?

Sunday Bloody Sunday, U2

Holla atcha boy!

