Tbilisi Nights

I was standing in the door of the marshrutka. I had to decide in the next 2 minutes (before my Regional Representative got on the bus) if I wanted to go back to Oz that night or stay in Tbilisi with my friends. I have developed a great community back in Oz, and if I went back I would continue to save money. But on the other hand, it’s been a while since I’ve hung out with Erin and the crew. And it’s high time we created some new adventures. But on the other hand… I would have to take a public marshrutka back to Oz. My friends on the Oz bus didn’t help much. They were giving me advice from both sides.

I finally decided to get my bag out of the marshrutka and stay.

I went back up to the party hall, which was a little awkward after having said goodbye 10 minutes earlier. The weather was making me think twice about my decision to stay as it was threatening to rain. On a side note, we learned (or heard) that the site was in a microclimate…. whatever that is.

We also didn’t know where we would stay. But first things first- more wine.

We bummed a ride into Old Town from a TLG bus heading out of town in order to stay out of the rain. Our first destination was to find somewhere to stay. Envoy Hostel is in Old Town right under the Fortress. I had heard of it, but it was my first time staying there. Very nice! It was a little more expensive, but comfortable and clean accommodations. AND the bathrooms are new and clean! At the hostel we met some other folks doing a study program from Finland. After lounging for a bit, it was time to head out.

Erin

Erin

The great thing about walking around is you get more and more familiar with your surroundings. I now know exactly where the great shawarma stand is!

We decided to go to a place called The Rugby Pub. It is a little dive bar underground with cheap beer. We stayed there for a good while. The food was good and the waitresses were amusingly flirty.

My friend Marta (not the one who lives in Oz) surprised us by flying in from Poland. So she and her TLG group met us at the restaurant. It was really good to see and catch up with her. We had spent enough time at this bar so we decided to leave and meet them later.

Next stop was another dive bar, Salve. It, too, was underground. I was feeling good and decided to treat myself to a Rum&Coke, but she didn’t have any rum. She only had Vodka and cha-cha.  I got a vodka/ Sprite that turned out to be weak and warm.  Erin wasn’t having that, so she went to the market, got a bottle of Vodka and we mixed our own drinks.

It was time to start the dance party. They had a laptop and a DJ. But the DJ turned out  to not be a DJ, just someone standing by the computer. He even turned a song off at the good part so he could take a call. Party foul. As this seemed like a self serve music venue we warmed up the room with The Killers, then a couple of dance hits everyone knew, then got things started with Macklemore’s ‘Thift Shop’. Packed the dance floor with Robyn’s ‘Call Your Grilfriend’ …instant dance party!

But we wanted to dance for real, so next we went to Café Gallery. The set up was different. I guess it was because it was a weekday. There were tables where they used to not be in the middle of the floor. Our other friends met up there and we had the best time! Danced til 4 (or at least I did). Got a shawarma on the way home (very impressed they were still open at four in the morning). And crashed back at the hostel.

So glad I stayed!

DSCN3431

***

I’m gonna pop some tags
Only got twenty dollars in my pocket
I – I – I’m hunting, looking for a come-up
This is fucking awesome

Thrift Shop, Macklemore

Holla atcha boy!

