Canning

I like eating the homemade jam with my bread for breakfast and dinner. They can 6 to 9 different fruit jams. When one is finished, they go to the pantry and pop open another. The pantry is slammed full of canned fruits and vegetables. We just ran out of the jams canned from last summer. It’s amazing how they calculate it out. (I think I through off this winter’s estimates, though. I love that jam! I was killing it!)

DSCN3447

The first fruits are becoming ripe; cherries and a mini plum- bali.

DSCN3450

I came to Georgia on the tail end of last summer. So I didn’t really get to see the full production of canning the summer fruits.  But now they are cranking up the process.

DSCN3445

***

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may, 
Old time is still a-flying: 
And this same flower that smiles to-day 
To-morrow will be dying.

To the Virgins, To Make Much of Time, Robert Herrick

Holla atcha boy!

