In With The New

The academic year is coming to an end. And that means mass departure for Peace Corps, European Volunteer Service (EVS) and TLG volunteers. Of the 150ish TLG here, 125 are leaving within the next few weeks. Peace Corp is rotating out one of their groups as well. That means its time for another large scale departure of my friends. But this time, pretty much all of them.  Out of the groups mentioned, only two my friends are staying with me.

That’s a sad thought.

No matter how good one is at meeting people, its hard building a community. My network of friends all over Georgia is about to be swept away in one fell swoop.

I just had a final beer with my friend in Oz, Rachael, from Peace Corp. She is leaving Oz in the morning and flying out of Georgia Monday. Once back in the States she will marry a great guy. Rachael was one of the people in Oz who came to Happy Hour Wednesday’s and Movie Night Sunday’s were held at her house.  In talking to her, she was in the state of emotion like I was  right before I left the States- ‘emotionally suspended’. She is concluding a major event in her life in which she committed two years. In a couple of days, she will be rejoining her friends and family back in comfortable surroundings that she is familiar with. But she is also saying goodbye to a community that she has daily interacted with for two years of her life. Although emotional in the inside, we talked about how it’s not manifesting itself like it should (tears, etc.)

When I left the States, I remember having the same feeling. ‘Why if I’m leaving all I know and love, am I not falling apart emotionally?’   Emotional Suspense.

Having this many great people leave at the same time, never to return, basically sucks.

Three new Peace Corp members are coming to Oz tomorrow. And TLG starts intaking new members mid August. Time to make new friends.

***

Cheers to all my Georgian friends who journeyed with me this past year of my life. I wish you all future success and happy memories. Who knows… maybe we’ll see each other around the bend!

***

And airports
See it all the time
Where someone’s last goodbye
Blends in with someone’s sigh
Cause someone’s coming home
In hand a single rose

And that’s the way this wheel keeps working now

You can find me, if you ever want again
I’ll be around the bend
I’ll be around,
And if you never stop when you wave goodbye
You just might find if you give it time
You will wave hello again
You just might wave hello again

Wheel, John Mayer

5 responses to “In With The New

  1. Our first beer’s on me, mate!

    I’m somewhat surprised that TLG is bringing in so many new people, after the apparent “purge” in December and the exodus of all but a couple dozen now. Any insight into the reason for the turnover?

    • “so many new people”. I don’t know what numbers you are referring to. Do you know how many will be in your orientation group? I think (and i could be very wrong) that it started with the shift in political leadership. I think there was a hard look at how things were done in the program and some changes were decided to be made. I think that overall it was easier to call a TV timeout, and let the old people/ current volunteers phase out and start again from ‘scratch’. But that’s just me I could be wrong. Can’t wait til you get here! If you need anything, think I can help you out or have any questions, email me.

      On Wed, Jun 12, 2013 at 12:56 PM, The Georgian Chronicles: Part I

      • I guess I should clarify. I have no idea how many will be in my orientation group. I mean “so many new people” as in nearly everybody that will be in the program will be new.

        Was there any indication as to what determined who gets to stay, out of the current group? I’m glad to hear that you’ll still be there, but definitely sad that your support network is leaving.

        Thank you for the offer, I may take you up on that! I’m currently in Estonia, and I’m *hoping* to not have to return to the States to take care of any TLG requirements (waiting on FBI). If I don’t have to go back to the US, I’ll just come down to Georgia on my own in mid-July — that’s how anxious I am to get there. 🙂

      • We all had to request to extend our contract again. So i don’t know how they chose who stayed, or how many requested to stay. mid July!!! thats awesome! and soon! Hope all works out.

        On Wed, Jun 12, 2013 at 1:19 PM, The Georgian Chronicles: Part I

  2. Ahh, so some people may have just decided not to extend, and TLG may have chosen not to extend some. Got it. Well, either way, I’m just glad that they’re still keeping the program going, and I look forward to coming down!

Holla atcha boy!

