Take The Good With The Bad

I became aware of something that I didn’t notice last year.  My school has three levels- stories. (THAT i was aware of.) The youngest kids are on the first floor and the oldest are on the third floor.

The kids stay with their same teacher until they change floors. So you would have the same teacher from 1st to 4th grade, another teacher from 5th to 8th then yet another from 9th to 12th. My host mom, Natia just flipped back to the 1st graders this year.

I don’t know how I feel about this system. As a teacher, I don’t think I would like it, because you could potentially be ‘stuck’ with an annoying kid for years. But as a kid, I think it would be comforting to have the same kids and teacher around. Maybe I envision a pseudo family type situation. But what if the dynamic of those classmates drive you crazy? They would drive you crazy for years.

P.S. The other day, a class I taught last year (now 5th graders) was headed out the door of the school together to go celebrate something or another. They undoubtedly were going to a restaurant were their would be traditional toasts and a high chance of wine. THAT never happened in the States!

***

Started from the bottom now we’re here
Started from the bottom now my whole team  here
Started from the bottom now we’re here
Started from the bottom now the whole team here,
Started from the bottom now we’re here
Started from the bottom now my whole team here,
Started from the bottom now we’re here
Started from the bottom now the whole team  here

Started From The Bottom, Drake

Holla atcha boy!

