No Big Deal

I like my school a lot. The teachers are a mix of old and young. The facilities are in pretty good condition and we have heat in the winter, which cannot be overlooked or underrated. They all know me pretty well, even though we can’t really ‘speak’ to each other.

All last month it seemed that I was helping one particular co English teacher prepare an open lesson. An open lesson is where other teachers from other schools come to observe what you are doing. She has been a part of a training organization for teachers and they require it of her. A perk of the training is they had the opportunity to go to the States over summer. I think 30 teachers from across Georgia traveled.

My school is really good and shines when it comes to hosting visitors. After her lesson, we treated the visiting teachers to a full blown supra. The table was spread with lunch and desserts. AND we had wine and honey vodka (which I had not had before, but was really tasty). Toasts were given by everyone it seemed.  But in the end, No Big Deal- that’s how my school rolls!

DSCN4626

Co English teacher of honor- Elene.

Co English teacher of honor- Elene.

But in retrospect, it WAS a big deal…

So other teachers in the Region also had to do open lessons, and I took it as an opportunity to go see other schools and meet other teachers. I had known a Georgian friend was doing a lesson, so I told her I would come see her. Well, her school is having renovation difficulties; so she decided to team-teach with another teacher in Oz school #1, Mezia.

School #1 is up on a hilltop in the town beside the hospital. I had never been there, so I was excited to see it. Walking up the hill, I noticed a group of students from MY school hanging out. I gave them a hard time, and they gave me a hard time saying I was going to see my girlfriend. Silly boys.

I got up the hill to a very large paved open area. It looked more like a compound than a school. My school is rectangular and three stories. This place had three or four buildings either three or four stories. I had to call my friend Natia to figure out where to go. I wouldn’t say the school is ‘as’ nice as mine, but it’s in pretty good condition.

They did a lesson with an 8th grade class about famous landmarks. They used a projected Jeopardy game as the vehicle. It was a pretty good lesson. (A side note: I really like these open lessons, because it not only gives the other teachers ideas, but also an actual visualization that they too, can teach with these methods.

Afterwards they treated us to a lunch. You could tell they were attempting to replicate what we did at the previous open lesson, but it was a sad, sad sight. That’s when I realized, I really love and appreciate my school!

***

Tag Team back again check it top
Wreck it – let’s begin
Party people let me hear some noise
DC’s in the house jump jump and rejoice
There’s a party over here
a party over there
Wave your hands in the air
Shake the deriere
These three words mean you’re gettin’ busy
Whoomp there it is
Whoomp there it is

Whoomp, There It Is, Tag Team

Holla atcha boy!

