My Day…

There is a girl at school who is afraid of me. Like afraid to even look at me. Her friends find it hilarious. So today, I ran up to her and gave her a big long hug. I turned and walked away without seeing the consequences. She could have fainted for all I know. Or started projectile vomiting.

So far, I don’t mind walking to school. The weather is still comfortable. This morning walking to school, a car crept up beside me and offered a ride. In the backseat was a neighbor and her granddaughter. These pseudo hitchhiking rides are pretty much the same. Very seldom does a person speak English well enough for a conversation. But, by God, they try! I’m not complaining. they shave off 15 minutes from my walk.

There are three streets that I walk home by. The one that the school is on is the longest. But sometimes I am the only one walking on it as far down as I can see.  Today in the distance I saw a lady pushing a stroller. I didn’t notice her again until I was almost passing her. (I was lost in thought to my earphones.) Sometimes I find it awkward to pass people on the road. I don’t want to startle them as I pass. but I don’t want to offend them by crossing to walk on the other side of the street. As I approached this lady, I decided to cross the street. As I was passing, I noticed her softly singing to her baby. Georgia loves music and dance. EVERYONE sings and dances. I am not saying they all are great singers, but they sing for the joy of it. They easily and often break into song at supras and parties or even hanging out in the park. And if one person dances, you will quickly find them followed by four or five more.

The song the mom was singing was probably remembered from her childhood and her mom.

I passed a corner house walking home from school. And I noticed what I thought were two dogs playing together. When I got up to them one was mounting the other; aka sex… going to town. But only when I looked through the bushes of the fence (that sounds awkward) did I see that the other animal was not a dog, but a pig. I was confused. I am not used to this ‘rural’ living. That sort of thing might be normal happenings on old McDonald’s farm and the village, but it’s all new to this guy.

On my block, the road changes from smooth pavement to gravel and potholes. I don’t understand why it abruptly changes or stops right before my house– annoying .  Between the intersection and my house, an old lady was piling up leaves and twigs in the middle of the road to burn.

I was finally home from my walk. Gurami was bagging the husks from the last of their HUGE stash of corn…. I mean HUGE! I was walking up to him to say hello, when I hear from off to the right of me, GMARJOBA!!!!!!!  I jumped a good 2 feet. It was our next door neighbor saying hello from her window (that’s how close their house is to ours). Hello, Manana!

I was changing out of my school clothes when I got a whiff of a semi-unfamiliar smell. At least unfamiliar to smell in my room. It smelled…. ‘Georgian’. Kind of like how a movie theater smells like a movie theater, but you wouldn’t expect to smell it in your house. I looked around and smelled various things. Come to find out, it was me!

***

Just wakin up in the mornin gotta thank God
I don’t know but today seems kinda odd
No barkin from the dog, no smog
And momma cooked a breakfast with no hog
I got my grub on, but didn’t pig out
Finally got a call from a girl I wanna tip out
(Whassup?) Hooked it up for later as I hit the do’
Thinkin will I live, another twenty-fo’
I gotta go cause I got me a drop top
And if I hit the switch, I can make the ass drop
Had to stop, at a red light
Lookin in my mirror and not a cop in sight
And everything is alright
Called up the homies and I’m askin y’all
Which park, are y’all playin basketball?
Get me on the court and I’m trouble
Last week messed around and got a triple double
Freakin dudes everyway like M.J.
I can’t believe, today was a good day!

It Was A Good Day, Ice Cube

Holla atcha boy!

