Reunion

Tuesday at school, I passed Nika, my former host brother, in the hall. The school is has a small student population, but large enough to not see everyone everyday. I gave him a big bear hug as I always do when I see him. His English is pretty poor. As poor as my Georgian. He asked when I would come visit the family. I had always intended to when I got back from the States, but things just never really lined up. So I told him Wednesday lunch.

It was a little weird walking up the old street again. I didn’t see any of the neighbors out, but I did see Levon’s car parked in the street in front of the house from a distance. When I opened the gate, I saw people’s headed peeking through the curtains. Walked through the garage and Eka opened the door for me.  She gave a hardy well-articulated ‘Hello’.  Inside were Levon, Nino and the grandmother. Nino, of course was being shy. She had gotten noticeably bigger. She is still not in school, however. Next year. Everyone was as happy to see me as I was them. We asked all the relevant questions there was to ask, then we settled into watching/ looking at the television until lunch was prepared.

When it was time to eat, we all went to the table, but I noticed that only I ate anything. Apparently, they had eaten at 1 o’clock. So it was just me and Nino (who by this time had warmed up to me again).  Levon brought out the Cha-cha- yuck. And I did three shots. He refused as he was driving back to work. The grandfather came back at this time. He seemed happy to see me, but didn’t ask or say much. He has since gotten a job or I should say more hours on the job. He still works for the bread factory. Because of that, he didn’t drink either. Eka left shortly thereafter, because she was back to work, too.

Lunch was delicious, but short lived. It was good to them.

Updates:

Lado is still in Tbilisi at University. They think he likes it. He used to commute home every weekend, but now he has a job at a bank and works on Saturdays.

Levon asked for me to purchase an iPad for him the next time I go to the States. He had gotten an Android Tablet, but the Internet is painfully slow. Nino uses it primarily to play games.

Levon gave me a ride to my next destination, and that was that.

 

***

“I’m coming home again.
Do you think about me now and then?
Do you think about me now and then?
Cause I’m coming home again”

Homecoming, Kanye West

Holla atcha boy!

