Baby Steps

For some reason, Natia has been giving me meat sandwiches for breakfast and dinner lately. This is a profound change given that the past year and a half  I usually have only had bread and tea.

And an even greater break from the routine was when I said I would cook my own eggs for dinner and she allowed me!

In the States, I LOVE to cook and I am pretty good at it. So coming to Georgian and not ‘being allowed’ is disappointing. But now, she is giving me the opportunity to cook… awesome! But frightening at the same time. I immediately felt pressure to make the perfect eggs, but using pans and utensils that I am not used to using.

As I am preparing the eggs, she asks would I like butter to fry them in. I say yes to her without thinking about it, because I have other pressing issues to decide; like should I scramble them or so a simple fry? Should I ask for onions to sautee them in? As I am deciding these questions in my mind, I hear the hiss of butter being melted in the hot pan. OH NOOOOO!!!!

I had forgotten a Georgian habit as instilled as putting mayonnaise on pizza. They cook everything in either a gallon of oil or a kilo of butter. I am NOT lying or exaggerating. I turn around and the butter is already covering and making waves in the bottom of the pan. My pour eggs don’t even have a chance. In the end they up being sort of fried eggs.

IMG_1065

Fried egg saturated in butter

 

Baby steps.

***

My host mom makes her own bread. It’s… okay. A little too dense for my liking, but she faithfully bakes it every weekend. A little while ago, it dawned on me that it tastes like focaccia bread but without the salty goodness on top. So I suggested to her that she try cooking it that way. And to my surprise she did! Well, she let me add the salty goodness after she baked it.

This could be construed as biased, but it was delicious! I think what also added to the goodness was she let me eat it still warm. She usually serves it room temperature the day after its baked and we eat it until its gone (three days later).

I asked why we don’t eat the bread when it’s warm. And she replied, “Hot bread makes your stomach hurt.” […crickets…]

***

“The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.” – Julia Child

 

Holla atcha boy!

