TLG End of Year Ceremony 2014

This past weekend was the End of Year Ceremony for TLG.

I love seeing everyone together. We get to swap stories and just be in each other’s presence instead of having to text or phone.

This year it was at the Resource Center in Tbilisi instead of an ambassador’s residence like last year. Unbeknownst to me, I received an award! I was one of 15 to be selected as ‘Best Volunteer’. How about that, huh?

My co-teacher, Mañana and me

My co-teacher, Mañana and me

Guria Regional Rep. for TLG, Tamta, me, and Manana

Guria Regional Rep. for TLG, Tamta, me, and Manana

On the last day of the conference, we toured the Kakheti region, which is wine region in a country that prides itself on wine. As I hadn’t been to kakheti before, I was super excited to go. Not so much with the other delegates. Either they had been before (because they live there) or they were not excited to spend ALL day on a bus, or they wanted to do stuff in Tbilisi. Oh well, sucked for them. I enjoyed it.

We went to:

Alaverdi Monastery

DSCN5934

DSCN5937

This place wasn’t so old but it was very beautiful. During Soviet times, they frescos were all white washed. But they are slowly restoring them.

Shuamta Monastery

DSCN5968

DSCN5949

This place was huge. We were fortunate enough to come during a wedding.

 

 

DSCN5956

DSCN5959

Obviously weddings are done differently here. For example, although there is a religious ceremony aspect to it, not all are invited or expected to attend. There is just one best man and one bride’s maid. So the number of people there are probably 20-25. Everyone else invited to the ‘wedding’ are waiting at a banquet hall for the supra. Also the church/ monastery isn’t closed off to the public. People can still use the church to pray or whatever or (like us) creep on whoever is getting married.

Alexander Chavchavadze’s House Museum

DSCN5972

I was very impressed with the beauty of this house. We took a wine tour and a tour of the house. Alexander was a mover and shaker during his time. I will research further into his history, but here is a link that’s pretty good to give the gist.

***

Because we’re goin’ to the chapel
and we’re gonna get married,
goin’ to the chapel
and we’re gonna get married,
gee, I really love you
and we’re gonna get married,
goin’ to the chapel of love.

Chapel Of Love, The Dixie Cups

Holla atcha boy!

