Introducing Anna

I have always wanted to have a girl. Chalk it up to an idealistic vision to raise a strong, world-changing juggernaut. A modern day Da Vinci or Thomas Jefferson.

My host sister, Anne is 7 years old. She is the only child of Zura and Mari. They have definite ideas as to how they want her to be raised and grow up.

Anna

Anna

First let me say she is not maladjusted at all (or not that I can see). Because they are well off, by Georgian standards, they can afford to provide her with things that I haven’t noticed other Georgian children having.

Anna was at first painfully shy around me. Which is par for the course. That seems to be the default mode of kids. But I am comfortable with it, knowing it will change 180 degrees in a short amount of time. It’s usually the parents who become awkward and overly apologetic that I have to reassure.

DSCN6373

But slowly she began to ask my whereabouts and spied on me whenever I was home. She would constantly interrupt her parents to ask what I had said or when our English lessons were going to begin. She wouldn’t speak to me directly or speak a word of English. But now, she plays video games with me and tries desperately to get me to understand her Georgian sentences. We are buds.

During my birthday salutations

During my birthday salutations

Zura told me that he did not want Anna to be culturally pigeonholed by Georgian customs. One of his ideas for preventing that is to allow her to make choices on her own and to develop a sense of independence in her. He allows her to carry her own pocket money to buy things as she wishes.

In addition, they are exposing her to a lot of different opportunities. That’s the primary reason I am here, to expose her to native English speaking. She takes horse-riding lessons, piano lessons and is in a robotics club.

DSCN6374

So we’ll see.

***

Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it. -Proverbs 22:6

Holla atcha boy!

